shopping_cart

A Swallow Press Book

A Death in Bali
A Jenna Murphy Mystery

By Nancy Tingley

 Praise for A Head in Cambodia:
“In her stellar debut, Nancy Tingley combines art, murder, and Southeast Asia into a compelling tale. Deftly plotted and expertly executed, Tingley’s novel will keep readers up late at night. Jenna Murphy is a curator worth rooting for. We will be hearing more from this talented newcomer.”

Sheldon Siegel, author of Special Circumstances

Praise for A Head in Cambodia:
“In a crowded field of art history whodunits, this first novel stands out … Jenna, an unabashed sleuth both on and off the job, is a fresh new voice. A great pick for fans of Iain Pears and B.A. Shapiro looking to expand their geography.”

Library Journal

Praise for A Head in Cambodia:
“Engaging and atmospheric.”

 Bay Area Reporter

 Praise for A Head in Cambodia:
“Nancy Tingley’s insider perspective on the detective work involved in authenticating art is a story in itself and worthwhile reading for anyone interested in the mystery of what’s fake and what’s real in art and antiquities.” 

Susan C. Shea, author of the Dani O’Rourke Mysteries and Love and Death in Burgundy

Intrepid young curator-turned-private eye Jenna Murphy—whom readers first met in A Head in Cambodia—goes to the tourist town of Ubud to study early twentieth-century Balinese painting. But her first discovery when she arrives in Indonesia is the speared body of expat artist Flip Hendricks. She soon is working with an old friend, a detective for the Ubud police force, to seek the killer. Jenna suspects the motive for the killing has to do with Flip’s paintings. Detective Wayan Tyo is not so sure.

Is Jenna right, or are there other forces at work in this paradise overrun with tourists? The threats to Jenna’s safety pile up, until she can no longer deny that her life is in danger. Her entanglement with various men only clouds her judgment and complicates the situation.

As she did in the first Jenna Murphy book, in A Death in Bali, Nancy Tingley draws on her extensive experience as a scholar of Asian art to bring the armchair traveler an immersive, inside view of the art world.

Nancy Tingley is an independent art historian and consultant with a specialty in Asian art. She has worked extensively in the art world and as a museum curator. Most recently, she curated Arts of Ancient Viet Nam: From River Plain to Open Sea, jointly organized by the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, and the Asia Society, New York.   More info →

Order a print copy

Hardcover · $21.56 ·
Add to Cart

Retail price: $26.95 · Save 20% ($21.56)

Buy from a local bookstore

IndieBound

US and Canada only

Download an electronic copy

Amazon Kindle Store Barnes & Noble NOOK Google Play iBooks Store

Availability and price vary according to vendor.

Cover of A Death in Bali

Share    Facebook icon  Email icon

Requests

Desk Copy Examination Copy Review Copy

Permission to reprint
Permission to photocopy or include in a course pack via Copyright Clearance Center

Formats

Hardcover
978-0-8040-1196-9
Retail price: $26.95, T.
Release date: March 2018
344 pages · 5½ × 8½ in.
Rights:  World

Electronic
978-0-8040-4087-7
Release date: March 2018
344 pages
Rights:  World

Additional Praise for A Death in Bali

 Praise for A Head in Cambodia:
“Nancy Tingley’s spellbinding mystery beautifully weaves together lush language, the intricacies of the Asian art world and page-turning tension. Richly rendered scenes follow one upon the other, making the reader wish the book would never end.” 

Nina Schuyler, author of The Translator

Related Titles

Cover of 'A Head in Cambodia'

A Head in Cambodia
A Jenna Murphy Mystery
By Nancy Tingley

When the alluring, eleventh-century Cambodian stone head of Radha, consort to Krishna, shows up at the Searles Museum, young curator Jenna Murphy doesn’t suspect that it will lead her to a murder. Asian art is her bailiwick, not criminal investigation, and her immediate concern is simply figuring out whether the head is one famously stolen from its body, or a fake.

Mystery · Cambodia

Cover of 'Ministers of Fire'

Ministers of Fire
A Novel
By Mark Harril Saunders

Kabul, Afghanistan, 1979: CIA station chief Lucius Burling, an idealistic but flawed product of his nation’s intelligence establishment, barely survives the assassination of the American ambassador. Burling’s reaction to the murder, and his desire to understand its larger meaning, propel him on a journey of intrigue and betrayal that will reach its ultimate end in the streets of Shanghai, months after 9/11.

Thriller