shopping_cart

The World Unclaimed
A Challenge to Heidegger's Critique of Husserl

By Lilian Alweiss

The World Unclaimed is a truly philosophical text and a solid work of scholarly erudition. It provides an excellent presentation of the issues at stake in the disagreement between Heidegger and Husserl and gives the latter a second chance without falling into Husserlian apologetics. I am impressed by Alweiss's uncommon familiarity with both continental and analytic philosophy and by the maturity of her philosophical judgments.”

Rudolf Bernet, Director of the Husserl Archive and Professor of Philosophy at the University of Leuven, Belgium

"In this exceptionally stimulating book Dr. Alweiss effectively shows how the traditionally central problem of the relation between the perceiving subject and the so-called external world can be illuminated through a closely argued reading of such paradigmatically "continental" philosophers as Husserl and Heidegger. It should appeal to an unusually wide range of philosophers of otherwise quite different backgrounds and interests. In particular, contemporary analytic philosophers concerned with the problems of knowledge and perception may learn much from seeing their problems argued out in the context and language of a prima facie very different tradition from their own."

Alan Montefiore, Emeritus Fellow of Balliol College, Oxford

The World Unclaimed argues that Heidegger's critique of modern epistemology in Being and Time is seriously flawed. Heidegger believes he has done away with epistemological problems concerning the external world by showing that the world is an existential structure of Dasein. However, the author argues that Heidegger fails to make good his claim that he has “rescued” the phenomenon of the world, which he believes the tradition of philosophy has bypassed. Heidegger fails not only to reclaim the world but also to acknowledge its loss. Alweiss thus calls into question Heidegger's claim that ontology is more fundamental than epistemology.

The World Unclaimed develops its powerful critique of Being and Time by arguing for a return to Husserl. It draws on Husserl's insight that it is the moving and sensing body that discloses how we are already familiar with the world. Kinaesthesia provides a key for understanding our relation to the world. The author thus suggests that thinkers in the vein of Husserl and Kant -who, for Heidegger, epitomize the tradition of modern philosophy by returning to a “worldless subject”- may provide us with the resources to reclaim the phenomenon of the world that Being and Time sets out to salvage.

Alweiss's fresh and innovative study demonstrates that it is possible to overcome epistemological skepticism without ever losing sight of the phenomenon of the world. Moreover, Alweiss challenges us to reconsider the relation between Husserl and Heidegger by providing a forceful defense of Husserl's critique of cognition.

Lilian Alweiss is a lecturer in philosophy at Trinity College, Dublin. She is the author of a number of articles and has edited a special issue on McDowell's Mind and World for the Journal of the British Society of Phenomenology.

Order a print copy

Hardcover · $39.96 ·
Add to Cart

Retail price: $49.95 · Save 20% ($39.96)

Buy from a local bookstore

IndieBound

US and Canada only

Download an electronic copy

Amazon Kindle Store Barnes & Noble NOOK Google Play iBooks Store

Availability and price vary according to vendor.

Cover of The  World Unclaimed

Share    Facebook icon  Email icon

Requests

Desk Copy Examination Copy Review Copy

Permission to reprint
Permission to photocopy or include in a course pack via Copyright Clearance Center

Downloads & Links

In Series

Series in Continental Thought

Related Subjects

Philosophy

Formats

Hardcover
978-0-8214-1464-4
Retail price: $49.95, S.
Release date: July 2003
272 pages · 6 × 9 in.
Rights:  World

Electronic
978-0-8214-4086-5
Release date: July 2003
272 pages

Related Titles

Cover of 'Prophetic Politics'

Prophetic Politics
Emmanuel Levinas and the Sanctification of Suffering
By Philip J. Harold

In Prophetic Politics, Philip J. Harold offers an original interpretation of the political dimension of Emmanuel Levinas's thought. Harold argues that Levinas’s mature position in Otherwise Than Being breaks radically with the dialogical inclinations of his earlier Totality and Infinity and that transformation manifests itself most clearly in the peculiar nature of Levinas's relationship to politics.

Phenomenology · Philosophy

Cover of 'Kant and the Role of Pleasure in Moral Action'

Kant and the Role of Pleasure in Moral Action
By Iain P. D. Morrisson

Kant scholars since the early nineteenth century have disa­greed about how to interpret his theory of moral motivation. Kant tells us that the feeling of respect is the incentive to moral action, but he is notoriously ambiguous on the question of what exactly this means. In Kant and the Role of Pleasure in Moral Action, Iain Morrisson offers a new view on Kant’s theory of moral action.

Philosophy · Continental Philosophy

Cover of 'Eclipse of the Self'

Eclipse of the Self
The Development of Heidegger’s Concept of Authenticity
By Michael E. Zimmerman

Although it is sometimes said that Martin Heidegger’s later philosophy no longer concerned itself with the theme of authenticity so crucial to Being and Time (1927), this book argues that his interest in authenticity was always strong. After leaving the seminary to become a philosophy student, Heidegger began to “de–mythologize” religious themes for his own philosophical purposes.

Philosophy

Cover of 'Word and Object in Husserl, Frege, and Russell'

Word and Object in Husserl, Frege, and Russell
The Roots of Twentieth-Century Philosophy
By Claire Oritz Hill

In search of the origins of some of the most fundamental problems that have beset philosophers in English-speaking countries in the past century, Claire Ortiz Hill maintains that philosophers are treating symptoms of ills whose causes lie buried in history. Substantial linguistic hurdles have blocked access to Gottlob Frege's thought and even to Bertrand Russell's work to remedy the problems he found in it.

Philosophy