shopping_cart

Sherwood Anderson’s Winesburg, Ohio
With Variant Readings and Annotations

By Sherwood Anderson
Edited by Ray Lewis White

“Perhaps the finest edition of this seminal work available.... the deluxe treatment.”

Library Journal

“...a true collector’s item...beautifully produced and detailed.... An adventure into the history surrounding the book...as if Anderson has come to life to discuss his writing with us.”

Susan Swartout

“The large type is easy on the eye. Fans of Winesburg, Ohio and the modern American short story will want to own this handsome edition.”

Bloomsbury Review

“This new edition...includes many valuable annotations that explain the background and references in the stories. Photographs and maps complement the text.”

The Plain Dealer

In 1919 a middle-aged Chicago advertising writer from Ohio, a failure as a businessman, husband, and father, published a small yellow book of short stories intended to “reform” American literature. Against all expectations, Winesburg, Ohio: A Group of Tales of Ohio Small Town Life achieved what its author intended: after 1919 and after Winesburg, Ohio, American literature would be written and read freshly and differently.

Winesburg, Ohio has never been out of print, but never has Anderson's book been published in the form and with the editorial care that the work has needed and deserved. The present text, authorized by the Sherwood Anderson Literary Estate Trust, is an expert text. The editor has relied on years of experience in editing Sherwood Anderson and has consulted all Anderson manuscripts, typescripts, letters, and diaries and all editions of the book to present the masterpiece in its intended state.

New to this expert edition of Winesburg, Ohio are historical and cultural annotations, documentation of changes in the various editions, identification of the Ohio originals for Anderson's characters, and maps bearing the streets and buildings of the real town of Clyde, Ohio, which is the basis of Anderson's fictional account.

Included as well are unique photographs of Anderson and Clyde, Ohio, illustrations that deepen knowledge and feeling for the author's actual hometown and time, revealing Winesburg, Ohio to be an intensely local narrative—very much an “Ohio” book—and yet a book that has found and held worldwide attention.

Ray Lewis White is Distinguished Professor of English at Illinois State University. In addition to several books about Sherwood Anderson, Professor White has published extensively on the American short story and on an array of modern and contemporary writers.   More info →

Order a print copy

Hardcover · $27.96 ·
Add to Cart

Retail price: $34.95 · Save 20% ($27.96)

Buy from a local bookstore

IndieBound

US and Canada only

Cover of Sherwood Anderson’s Winesburg, Ohio

Share    Facebook icon  Email icon

Requests

Desk Copy Examination Copy Review Copy

Permission to reprint
Permission to photocopy or include in a course pack via Copyright Clearance Center

Formats

Hardcover
978-0-8214-1180-3
Retail price: $34.95, S.
Release date: January 2000
285 pages · 7 × 10 in.
Rights:  World

Related Titles

Cover of 'Aurora Leigh'

Aurora Leigh
By Elizabeth Barrett Browning
· Edited by Margaret Reynolds

Widely regarded as Barrett Browning’s major work, Aurora Leigh is important both for its address to contemporary social issues, the “woman question” in particular, and for its bold experimentation with poetic form. Since 1979 it has held its place in the canon as “the feminist poem” (Ellen Moers), yet, until now, no reliable edition of the work has been available.

British Literature · Literary Studies · Victorian Studies

Cover of 'The  Fields'

The  Fields
By Conrad Richter

Conrad Richter's trilogy of novels The Trees (1940), The Fields (1946), and The Town, (1950) traces the transformation of Ohio from wilderness to farmland to the site of modern industrial civilization, all in the lifetime of one character. The trilogy earned Richter immediate acclaim as a historical novelist. The Town won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction in 1951, and The Trees was a Book-of-the-Month Club selection soon after it was published.

Literary Studies · Fiction · American Literature

Cover of 'The  Complete Works of Robert Browning, Volume XVI'

The Complete Works of Robert Browning, Volume XVI
With Variant Readings and Annotations
By Robert Browning
· Edited by Susan Crowl and Roma A. King Jr.

In seventeen volumes, copublished with Baylor University, this acclaimed series features annotated texts of all of Robert Browning’s known writing. The series encompasses autobiography as well as influences bearing on Browning’s life and career and aspects of Victorian thought and culture. Robert Browning wrote Parleyings with Certain People of Importance in Their Day in his seventy-third year.

Literary Studies · Poetry · Victorian Studies · British Literature

Cover of 'Literary Cincinnati'

Literary Cincinnati
The Missing Chapter
By Dale Patrick Brown

The history of Cincinnati runs much deeper than the stories of hogs that once roamed downtown streets. In addition to hosting the nation’s first professional baseball team, the Tall Stacks riverboat celebration, and the May Festival, there’s another side to the city—one that includes some of the most famous names and organizations in American letters.

American Literature · Literary Studies · Ohio and Regional