The Complete Works of Robert Browning, Volume VII
With Variant Readings and Annotations

By Robert Browning
Edited by Roma A. King Jr.

The first complete edition of the works of Robert Browning with variant readings and annotations contains: 1. The entire contents of the first editions of Browning’s work; 2. All prefaces and dedications which Browning wrote for his own works and for those of Elizabeth Barrett Browning and others; 3. The two prose essays: The Essay on Chatterton and The Essay on Shelley; 4. The front matter and tables of contents of each of the collected editions (1849, 1863, 1865, 1868, 1888–1889) which Browning himself saw through the press; 5 Poems by Browning published during his lifetime but not collected by him; 9. Poems not published during Browning’s lifetime which have come to light since his death; 7. John Forster’s Thomas Wentworth, Earl of Strafford to which Browning contributed significantly, though to what precise extent has not been determined.

The edition provides a full apparatus, including variant readings and annotations.

Roma A. King, Jr. was Distinguished Professor Emeritus of English at Ohio University.

Order a print copy

Hardcover · $63.96 · Add to Cart

Retail price: $79.95 · Save 20% ($63.96)

Find at a local bookstore


Download an electronic copy

Amazon Kindle Store Barnes & Noble NOOK Google Play iBooks Store

Availability and price vary according to vendor.

Share    Facebook icon  Email icon


Desk Copy Examination Copy Review Copy

Permission to reprint
Permission to photocopy or include in a course pack via Copyright Clearance Center

Downloads & Links


In Series

The Complete Works of Robert Browning, № 7

Related Subjects

Literary Studies · Victorian Studies · British Literature · Poetry



Retail price: $79.95, S.
Release date: Jan. 1985
322 pages
Rights: World


Release date: Jan. 1985
≅ 322 pages