The Trial of Soren Qvist

By Janet Lewis

“Some of the twentieth century’s most vividly imagined and finely wrought literature.”

New York Times

“A harmonious retelling of a seventeenth-century legend concerning a saintly pastor, his cherished daughter, and the villain who betrayed them…Miss Lewis’s artfully simple prose achieves the effect of an ancient, lovingly illuminated missal.”

The New Yorker

“Intriguing…Janet Lewis combines scrupulous research and exquisite craftsmanship to create stories of timeless human drama…must rank among the finest historical fiction in English.”

Tim Gioe, WDCB FM Radio, Chicago

“Lewis has retold a true legend of Denmark in unadorned, free, and exciting prose. Here is a gruesomely fascinating story of such circumstantial evidence as to make the reader want to cry out in protest.”

Saturday Review of Literature

Janet Lewis was a novelist, poet, and short-story writer whose literary career spanned almost the entire twentieth century. The New York Times has praised her novels as “some of the 20th century’s most vividly imagined and finely wrought literature.” Born and educated in Chicago, she lived in California for most of her adult life and taught at both Stanford University and the University of California at Berkeley. Her works include The Wife of Martin Guerre (1941), The Trial of Sören Qvist (1947), The Ghost of Monsieur Scarron (1959), Good-Bye, Son and Other Stories (1946), and Poems Old and New (1982).

Order a print copy

Share    Facebook icon  Email icon


This book is not available for desk, examination, or review copy requests.

Permission to reprint
Permission to photocopy or include in a course pack via Copyright Clearance Center

Downloads & Links

External Link

Related Subjects

Literary Studies · Fiction · American Literature