Nancy Tingley

Nancy Tingley is an independent art historian and consultant with a specialty in Asian art. She has worked extensively in the art world and as a museum curator. Most recently, she curated Arts of Ancient Viet Nam: From River Plain to Open Sea, jointly organized by the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, and The Asia Society, New York.

On the Web at: http://www.nancytingley.com

Listed in: Mystery · Fiction




A Death in Bali · A Jenna Murphy Mystery
By Nancy Tingley

Intrepid young curator-cum-P.I. Jenna Murphy goes to Indonesia to study historic Balinese painting. But her first discovery is the body of expat artist Flip Hendricks. She is soon working with an old friend, a detective for the Ubud police force, to seek the killer in an adventure for armchair travelers, art lovers, and mystery fans alike.

Praise for A Head in Cambodia:
“In a crowded field of art history whodunits, this first novel stands out … Jenna, an unabashed sleuth both on and off the job, is a fresh new voice. A great pick for fans of Iain Pears and B.A. Shapiro looking to expand their geography.”

Library Journal




A Head in Cambodia · A Jenna Murphy Mystery
By Nancy Tingley

When the alluring, eleventh-century Cambodian stone head of Radha, consort to Krishna, shows up at the Searles Museum, young curator Jenna Murphy doesn’t suspect that it will lead her to a murder. Asian art is her bailiwick, not criminal investigation, and her immediate concern is simply figuring out whether the head is one famously stolen from its body, or a fake.

“In a crowded field of art history whodunits, this first novel stands out … Jenna, an unabashed sleuth both on and off the job, is a fresh new voice. A great pick for fans of Iain Pears and B.A. Shapiro looking to expand their geography.”

Library Journal