Kevin Haworth

Kevin Haworth's novel The Discontinuity of Small Things was winner of the Samuel Goldberg Prize for best Jewish fiction and finalist for the Dayton Literary Peace Price. He teaches writing at Ohio University and serves as executive editor of Ohio University Press/Swallow Press.

Listed in: Essays · Literary Criticism, US · Literary Fiction · American Literature · Literary Studies · Women Authors

Originally published in 1947, The Trial of Sören Qvist has been praised by a number of critics for its intriguing plot and Janet Lewis’s powerful writing. And in the introduction to this new edition, Swallow Press executive editor and author Kevin Haworth calls attention to the contemporary feeling of the story—despite its having been written more than fifty years ago and set several hundred years in the past.

"The perfect novel of its genre."

New York Times

This historical novel is the third and final book in American poet and fiction writer Janet Lewis’s Cases of Circumstantial Evidence series, based on legal case studies compiled in the nineteenth century. In The Ghost of Monsieur Scarron, Lewis returns to her beloved France, the setting of The Wife of Martin Guerre, her best-known novel and the first in the series.

“Bristles with characterization, the atmosphere of a cruel and dingy Paris, considerable suspense, and the smell of blood.”

San Francisco Chronicle

This is the first digital version of Cases of Circumstantial Evidence, a collection of three historical novels by noted American writer Janet Lewis.

“Reading the three novels in a line, from The Wife of Martin Guerre to The Ghost of Monsieur Scarron, is a powerful experience…. In each there is a fully and vividly realized woman who finds herself twisting helplessly in the dilemmas posed by love and duty.”

Larry McMurtry

The Wife of Martin Guerre
By Janet Lewis · Introduction by Kevin Haworth · Afterword by Larry McMurtry

The Wife of Martin Guerre—based on a notorious trial in sixteenth-century France—is “one of the most significant short novels in English” (Atlantic Monthly). Originally published in 1941, it still raises questions about identity, belonging, and about an individual’s capacity to act within an inflexible system.

“One of the most significant short novels in English.”

Atlantic Monthly

A Choice Significant University Press Title for Undergraduates, 2010-11.

Ranked “Outstanding” in the 2012 University Press Books for Public and Secondary School Libraries listing.

Lit from Within · Contemporary Masters on the Art and Craft of Writing
Edited by Kevin Haworth and Dinty W. Moore

Lit from Within offers creative writers a window into the minds of some of America’s most celebrated contemporary authors. Witty, direct, and thought–provoking, these essays offer something to creative writers of all backgrounds and experience. With contributions from fiction writers, poets, and nonfiction writers, this is a collection of unusual breadth and quality.

“This collection of 15 essays, written by literary luminaries such as poet Billy Collins, novelist Francine Prose and nonfiction author Rick Bass, offers wonderful insight into the working habits of some of America's most celebrated authors…. Smart, concise and thought-provoking, this collection is a treasure for writers looking to improve their craft.”

The Writer